Rum is a distilled liquor made from either molasses (what’s left after sugarcane has been crystallised) or from sugarcane juice (if molasses is not available) which is gluten-free to start off with! However, even liquors derived from grain (like gin and vodka) are generally gluten-free due to the distillation process breaking down the gluten proteins from the grains.

If you’d like to find out more about grain in alcohol, the Coeliac UK website provides valuable information about the beverages that do and don’t contain gluten – you can find it here: